Living the Single Life

A great deal of ink has been spilled trying to show single men and women how to find a partner.  Dating guides, pick-up manuals, support groups, and recent major motion pictures have covered the subject forwards, backwards, and sideways.  But singles looking for love could do worse than to examine the odds: some cities simply have more single men than single women, and others are overflowing with single women but have a dearth of available men. 

The map above, produced by by Richard Florida at WhosYourCity.com, shows the distributions of single men and women between the ages of 20 and 64 in cities nationwide.  Cities with a surplus of men are in blue; those with a surplus of women, in red.  The larger the circle, the greater the number of single men or women in that town. Click here or on the picture above to see an enlarged version of the map.

The trends in the map are easy to spot: men living on the West Coast can probably attest to the huge numbers of single men on the lookout for available women.  And as the characters of Sex and the City attest, New York is crawling with single women but many fewer single men.  Overall, single women seem to gravitate to the Eastern United States, whereas single men apparently head west. 

Perhaps unsurprisingly, most major US metropolitan areas seem to be fairly well balanced; they may have a couple thousand more single men than women or vice versa, but spread out over a large urban area those numbers are barely noticeable.  But cities like New York, Philadelphia, Baltimore, and Washington stand out for their numbers of available women, just as Los Angeles, Phoenix, Dallas, and San Francisco/San Jose stand out for their numbers of single men. 

These statistics belie hidden demographics: certainly, economic centers of male-heavy industries like computing (Silicon Valley), gaming (Las Vegas), and aerospace (Seattle) are likely to attract more single men.  Similarly, many women looking to establish careers in public policy and law (Washington, DC) and fashion and design (New York) will gravitate to the more liberal East Coast cities, perhaps away from more conservative Central and Western states. 

24 Responses to “Living the Single Life”


  1. 1 Jen June 3, 2008 at 12:05 pm

    Did I miss it, or did they account anywhere for single homosexuals? I think this would be important to consider, especially if we’re calling ‘single’ the same as ‘unmarried.’ Maybe that would influence the high number of single men along the California coast where being gay is socially acceptable, but it was only very recently that gay marriage was recognized.
    Also, more and more straight young people these days put off getting married, but enter into domestic partnerships that could include joint bank accounts, credit cards, home ownership, etc. I’m not sure I’d consider someone in a position like that ‘single,’ but that’s the box they have to check.

  2. 2 Puca June 3, 2008 at 2:16 pm

    No, I don’t think you missed anything. The map deals with the sexes, male and female; sexual orientation within the two sexes is another matter. However, you do bring up a good point about how they may have considered domestic partnerships. I would imagine that domestic partnerships of any sex, as you point out, were probably counted as singles. In states where gay marriage is legal, they would appear in the books and records as married couples, and thus would not be part of this survey. Maybe there is another map that shows gay marriages; unfortunately domestic partnerships of any sex would be almost impossible to quantify.

  3. 3 Little Girl June 7, 2008 at 10:44 am

    Love your blog! Jen just recommended it to me after I posted about this same map….in anticipation for my move to LA🙂

  4. 4 manchester travel guide March 14, 2013 at 2:28 pm

    Post writing is also a excitement, if you know afterward you can write or
    else it is complex to write.

  5. 5 网购推荐 April 19, 2013 at 12:21 pm

    Hi mates, how is the whole thing, and what you would like
    to say about this paragraph, in my view its actually awesome in support of me.

  6. 6 网上购物 April 24, 2013 at 11:00 pm

    Asking questions are in fact fastidious thing
    if you are not understanding anything totally, except
    this article presents good understanding even.

  7. 7 free play2win games June 1, 2013 at 10:26 pm

    Thanks for ones marvelous posting! I actually enjoyed
    reading it, you will be a great author.I will ensure
    that I bookmark your blog and may come back later on.
    I want to encourage you to definitely continue your great job,
    have a nice holiday weekend!
    My spouse and I absolutely love your blog and find the majority of your
    post’s to be just what I’m looking for. Do you offer guest writers to write content for
    yourself? I wouldn’t mind writing a post or elaborating on many of the subjects you write about here. Again, awesome website!
    My partner and I stumbled over here different page and thought I may as well check things out. I like what I see so now i’m following you.

    Look forward to going over your web page repeatedly.

    I love what you guys tend to be up too. This type
    of clever work and reporting! Keep up the superb works guys I’ve you guys to my personal blogroll.
    Hello I am so excited I found your website, I really found you by error, while I was researching on Askjeeve for something else, Regardless I am here now and would just like to say thanks a lot for a remarkable post and a all round interesting blog (I also love the theme/design), I don’t have time to look over it all at the minute but I have book-marked it and also included your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be back to read a lot more, Please do keep up the great job.
    Admiring the persistence you put into your site and in depth information you present. It’s good
    to come across a blog every once in a while that isn’t the same old rehashed information. Excellent read! I’ve bookmarked your site and I’m including your RSS feeds to my Google account.
    Greetings! I’ve been following your blog for a long time now and finally got the courage to go ahead and give you a shout out from Kingwood Tx!
    Just wanted to say keep up the good work!
    I am really enjoying the theme/design of your blog. Do you ever run into any web browser compatibility problems?

    A number of my blog readers have complained about my site not operating correctly in Explorer but looks great in Firefox.
    Do you have any recommendations to help fix this problem?

    I’m curious to find out what blog system you have been using? I’m experiencing some small
    security issues with my latest site and I would like to find something more secure.
    Do you have any suggestions?
    Hmm it seems like your blog ate my first comment (it was extremely long) so I guess I’ll just sum it up what I had written and say, I’m thoroughly enjoying your blog.
    I too am an aspiring blog blogger but I’m still new to the whole thing. Do you have any tips for novice blog writers? I’d definitely
    appreciate it.
    Woah! I’m really digging the template/theme of this site. It’s simple, yet effective.
    A lot of times it’s very hard to get that “perfect balance” between user friendliness and visual appearance. I must say you have done a awesome job with this. In addition, the blog loads super quick for me on Firefox. Superb Blog!
    Do you mind if I quote a couple of your articles as long as I provide credit and sources back to your webpage? My blog is in the very same area of interest as yours and my visitors would really benefit from some of the information you present here. Please let me know if this alright with you. Regards!
    Hello would you mind letting me know which web host you’re
    working with? I’ve loaded your blog in 3 different browsers and I must say this blog loads a lot faster then most. Can you suggest a good internet hosting provider at a honest price? Thank you, I appreciate it!
    Very good website you have here but I was curious about if you knew of any user discussion forums that cover the same topics talked about here? I’d really love to be a part of group where I can
    get responses from other knowledgeable individuals that share the same interest.

    If you have any recommendations, please let me know.
    Thanks a lot!
    Good day! This is my 1st comment here so I just wanted to give
    a quick shout out and tell you I truly enjoy reading through your blog posts.
    Can you recommend any other blogs/websites/forums that deal
    with the same topics? Thanks a lot!
    Do you have a spam issue on this website; I also am
    a blogger, and I was wondering your situation; we have created
    some nice practices and we are looking to swap strategies with other folks, be sure to shoot me an
    e-mail if interested.
    Please let me know if you’re looking for a article writer for your weblog. You have some really great articles and I feel I would be a good asset. If you ever want to take some of the load off, I’d love to write some content for your
    blog in exchange for a link back to mine. Please send me an email if
    interested. Thank you!
    Have you ever considered about adding a little bit more than just your articles?

    I mean, what you say is important and all. However think about if you added some great visuals or videos to give your posts more, “pop”!
    Your content is excellent but with pics and clips, this website could
    undeniably be one of the greatest in its niche. Amazing blog!

    Awesome blog! Is your theme custom made or did
    you download it from somewhere? A design like yours with
    a few simple tweeks would really make my blog jump out. Please
    let me know where you got your design. Cheers
    Hi would you mind stating which blog platform you’re using? I’m looking to start my own blog
    soon but I’m having a hard time making a decision between BlogEngine/Wordpress/B2evolution and Drupal. The reason I ask is because your layout seems different then most blogs and I’m looking for something completely unique.

    P.S Apologies for being off-topic but I had to ask!
    Hi there just wanted to give you a quick heads up. The words in your article seem to be running off the screen in Ie.
    I’m not sure if this is a formatting issue or something to do with internet browser compatibility but I figured I’d post to let you know.
    The design and style look great though! Hope you get the problem resolved soon.
    Thanks
    With havin so much content and articles do you ever run into any issues of plagorism or copyright infringement?
    My site has a lot of unique content I’ve either written myself or outsourced but it appears a lot of it is popping it up all over the internet without my authorization. Do you know any methods to help reduce content from being stolen? I’d genuinely appreciate it.

    Have you ever considered writing an e-book or guest authoring on other websites?
    I have a blog based upon on the same ideas you discuss and would love
    to have you share some stories/information. I know my viewers would value your
    work. If you are even remotely interested, feel free to shoot me
    an e mail.
    Hey there! Someone in my Facebook group shared this website with
    us so I came to check it out. I’m definitely loving the information. I’m book-marking and will be tweeting this to my followers!
    Superb blog and amazing design and style.
    Fantastic blog! Do you have any hints for aspiring writers?
    I’m planning to start my own blog soon but I’m a little lost on
    everything. Would you suggest starting with a free platform like
    Wordpress or go for a paid option? There are so many options out there that
    I’m totally overwhelmed .. Any recommendations? Thank you!
    My developer is trying to convince me to move to .net from PHP. I have always disliked the idea because of the expenses. But he’s tryiong none the less.
    I’ve been using Movable-type on several websites for about a year and am worried about switching to another platform. I have heard great things about blogengine.net. Is there a way I can import all my wordpress posts into it? Any help would be greatly appreciated!
    Does your website have a contact page? I’m
    having trouble locating it but, I’d like to shoot you an email. I’ve got some suggestions for your blog you might be
    interested in hearing. Either way, great website
    and I look forward to seeing it grow over time.

    It’s a shame you don’t have a donate button! I’d most certainly donate to this excellent blog! I suppose for now i’ll settle for book-marking and adding your RSS feed to my Google account.
    I look forward to brand new updates and will talk about this blog with my Facebook group.
    Chat soon!
    Greetings from California! I’m bored to death at work so I decided to browse your site on my iphone during lunch break. I really like the info you present here and can’t
    wait to take a look when I get home. I’m surprised at how fast your blog loaded on my mobile .. I’m not
    even using WIFI, just 3G .. Anyways, good blog!

    Hiya! I know this is kinda off topic but I’d figured I’d ask.
    Would you be interested in trading links or maybe guest writing a blog post or vice-versa?
    My site goes over a lot of the same topics as yours and
    I think we could greatly benefit from each other.
    If you are interested feel free to shoot me an email. I look forward
    to hearing from you! Excellent blog by the way!
    At this time it sounds like WordPress is the preferred
    blogging platform out there right now. (from what I’ve read) Is that what you’re
    using on your blog?
    Superb post however , I was wondering if you could write a
    litte more on this subject? I’d be very grateful if you could elaborate a little bit further. Thanks!
    Howdy! I know this is somewhat off topic but I was wondering if you knew where I could locate a captcha plugin for my comment form? I’m using
    the same blog platform as yours and I’m having difficulty finding one? Thanks a lot!
    When I originally commented I clicked the “Notify me when new comments are added” checkbox and now each time a comment is added I get several emails with the same comment. Is there any way you can remove me from that service? Appreciate it!
    Hi! This is my first visit to your blog! We are a collection of volunteers and starting a new initiative in a community in the same niche. Your blog provided us beneficial information to work on. You have done a outstanding job!
    Howdy! I know this is kind of off topic but I was wondering which blog platform are you using for this website? I’m getting tired of WordPress because I’ve had issues with hackers and I’m looking at options for another
    platform. I would be great if you could point me in the direction of a good platform.

    Good day! This post couldn’t be written any better! Reading through this post reminds me of my old room mate! He always kept talking about this. I will forward this write-up to him. Fairly certain he will have a good read. Many thanks for sharing!
    Write more, thats all I have to say. Literally, it seems as though you relied on the video to make your point. You obviously know what youre talking about, why waste your intelligence on just posting videos to your weblog when you could be giving us something informative to read?
    Today, I went to the beach with my kids. I found a sea shell and gave it to my 4 year old daughter and said “You can hear the ocean if you put this to your ear.” She placed the shell to her ear and screamed. There was a hermit crab inside and it pinched her ear. She never wants to go back! LoL I know this is entirely off topic but I had to tell someone!
    Today, while I was at work, my cousin stole my apple ipad and tested to see if it can survive a 30 foot drop, just so she can be a youtube sensation. My iPad is now destroyed and she has 83 views. I know this is entirely off topic but I had to share it with someone!
    I was wondering if you ever considered changing the layout of your website? Its very well written; I love what youve got to say. But maybe you could a little more in the way of content so people could connect with it better. Youve got an awful lot of text for only having one or 2 images. Maybe you could space it out better?
    Howdy, i read your blog occasionally and i own a similar one and i was just wondering if you get a lot of spam responses? If so how do you protect against it, any plugin or anything you can recommend? I get so much lately it’s driving me mad so any support is very much appreciated.

    This design is spectacular! You certainly know how to keep
    a reader entertained. Between your wit and your videos,
    I was almost moved to start my own blog (well, almost.

    ..HaHa!) Excellent job. I really loved what you had to say, and more
    than that, how you presented it. Too cool!
    I’m truly enjoying the design and layout of your site. It’s a
    very easy on the eyes which makes it much more enjoyable for me to come here and visit more often.
    Did you hire out a developer to create your theme?
    Outstanding work!
    Hey! I could have sworn I’ve been to this website before but after checking through some of the post I realized it’s
    new to me. Anyways, I’m definitely happy I found it and I’ll be bookmarking and checking back often!

    Hey there! Would you mind if I share your blog with my facebook group?
    There’s a lot of folks that I think would really appreciate your content. Please let me know. Many thanks
    Hey there, I think your website might be having browser compatibility issues. When I look at your blog in Firefox, it looks fine but when opening in Internet Explorer, it has some overlapping. I just wanted to give you a quick heads up! Other then that, superb blog!
    Sweet blog! I found it while browsing on Yahoo News. Do you have any tips on how to get listed in Yahoo News? I’ve
    been trying for a while but I never seem to get
    there! Thank you
    Hello there! This is kind of off topic but I need some guidance from an established blog.
    Is it hard to set up your own blog? I’m not very techincal but I can figure things out pretty quick. I’m thinking about creating my own but I’m not sure where to begin. Do you have any ideas or suggestions? Thanks
    Hi! Quick question that’s totally off topic. Do you know how to
    make your site mobile friendly? My web site looks
    weird when browsing from my iphone. I’m trying to find a template or plugin that might be able to fix this problem. If you have any suggestions, please share. Thanks!
    I’m not that much of a internet reader to be honest but your sites really nice, keep it up! I’ll go ahead and bookmark your site
    to come back in the future. All the best
    I really like your blog.. very nice colors & theme.
    Did you make this website yourself or did you hire someone to do
    it for you? Plz respond as I’m looking to design my own blog and would like to find out where u got this from. thanks a lot
    Whoa! This blog looks just like my old one! It’s on a entirely different subject but it has pretty much the same layout and design.
    Wonderful choice of colors!
    Hey there just wanted to give you a quick heads up and let
    you know a few of the images aren’t loading correctly. I’m not sure why but I think its a linking issue.

    I’ve tried it in two different internet browsers and both show the same outcome.
    Hey are using WordPress for your site platform? I’m new to the blog world but
    I’m trying to get started and create my own. Do you require any html coding knowledge to make your own blog? Any help would be really appreciated!
    Whats up this is somewhat of off topic but I was wanting to know if blogs use WYSIWYG editors or if you have to manually code with HTML. I’m starting a blog
    soon but have no coding experience so I wanted to get advice from someone with experience.

    Any help would be greatly appreciated!
    Hey! I just wanted to ask if you ever have any issues with hackers?
    My last blog (wordpress) was hacked and I ended up losing a few months of hard work due
    to no backup. Do you have any methods to protect against hackers?

    Hey there! Do you use Twitter? I’d like to follow you if that would be okay. I’m undoubtedly
    enjoying your blog and look forward to new updates.
    Hello! Do you know if they make any plugins to protect against hackers?

    I’m kinda paranoid about losing everything I’ve worked hard on.
    Any recommendations?
    Hey! Do you know if they make any plugins to help with Search Engine Optimization?
    I’m trying to get my blog to rank for some targeted keywords but I’m not seeing
    very good results. If you know of any please share.

    Thank you!
    I know this if off topic but I’m looking into starting my own blog and was curious what all is required to get set up? I’m assuming having a blog
    like yours would cost a pretty penny? I’m not very internet smart so I’m not
    100% positive. Any tips or advice would be greatly appreciated.

    Thank you
    Hmm is anyone else encountering problems with the pictures on this blog loading?

    I’m trying to find out if its a problem on my end or if it’s the blog.
    Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.
    I’m not sure exactly why but this website is loading incredibly slow for me. Is anyone else having this issue or is it a issue on my end? I’ll check back later on and see if
    the problem still exists.
    Heya! I’m at work surfing around your blog from my new iphone 4! Just wanted to say I love reading through your blog and look forward to all your posts! Carry on the outstanding work!
    Wow that was unusual. I just wrote an extremely long comment but after I clicked submit my comment didn’t appear.
    Grrrr… well I’m not writing all that over again. Anyhow, just wanted to say superb blog!

  8. 8 http://Bookerrlay.busythumbs.com July 26, 2013 at 3:04 pm

    You can seek an advicefrom skilled professionals hired by Loans Store;
    their commendable expertise will guide you through the procedure.

    Having a steady salary on its face value alone signifies that you have a hard
    time finding lenders who will take the more interest rate you qualify for.
    Generally these are the cars from where the seller
    would like to study the credit report. There
    may be number of lenders offering pre-approved debt relief grantss includingupside down auto loan.

  9. 9 option trading platform August 6, 2013 at 12:52 am

    My relatives always say that I am wasting my time here at web,
    except I know I am getting familiarity all the time by reading such pleasant articles.

  10. 10 DreamHost Discount August 6, 2013 at 7:32 am

    I am also a single man. So should I try to find a girl from state where more single girls are there.

  11. 11 don chase your dreams August 12, 2013 at 8:39 am

    If you wish for to obtain a good deal from this post then you have
    to apply these strategies to your won web site.

  12. 12 Phone Therapy August 21, 2013 at 10:01 pm

    I all the time used to study post in news papers but now
    as I am a user of net therefore from now I am using net for articles or reviews, thanks to web.

  13. 13 Kate Somerville Coupon Code May 28, 2014 at 3:19 pm

    I’m gone to say to my little brother, that he should
    also pay a quick visit this blog on regular basis to obtain updated from hottest reports.

  14. 14 Ricarda June 3, 2014 at 9:18 am

    I discovered you’re using Wp as your blogging service.
    I’m contemplating getting the same. Could it be difficult to use?
    Does one have to have any understanding of Code to really make it work?
    I had actually appreciate your feedback!

  15. 15 Reem Clothing voucher code June 9, 2014 at 1:36 am

    Excellent post. I was checking constantly this blog
    and I am impressed! Extremely helpful info specially the closing phase 🙂 I handle such info much. I used to be seeking
    this particular info for a long time. Thank you and good luck.

  16. 16 google June 22, 2014 at 2:29 pm

    Hello just wanted to give you a quick heads up and let you know a
    few of the pictures aren’t loading properly. I’m not sure why but I think its a linking issue.
    I’ve tried it in two different web browsers and both show the same
    outcome.

  17. 18 how to eat a girl out September 27, 2014 at 10:20 am

    Excellent post. I was checking constantly this blog and I’m inspired!
    Very useful information specifically the final phase🙂 I handle such info a lot.
    I used to be looking for this particular info for
    a long time. Thank you and best of luck.

  18. 19 Jewell Blackburn October 5, 2014 at 3:54 am

    Everything is very open with a precise explanation of
    the challenges. It was truly informative. Your site is useful.
    Thank you for sharing!

  19. 20 Jacob Dutka October 5, 2014 at 5:20 am

    When someone writes an post he/she maintains the image of a user in his/her mind that how a user can know it.

    Therefore that’s why this post is outstdanding. Thanks!

  20. 21 Newspaper November 6, 2014 at 5:31 am

    I go to see each day a few web sites and information sites to read content, however this website presents
    feature based content.

  21. 22 Belajar bisnis online pemula kunjungi website June 15, 2015 at 5:12 am

    have them c ticle get from this can the it enefici your so visiting b

  22. 24 iphone camera lens attachment October 19, 2016 at 10:57 am

    Those are yours alright! . We at least need to get these people stealing images to start blogging! They probably just did a image search and grabbed them. They look good though!


Leave a Reply

Welcome to Cartographia

Cartographia is a blog about how we use maps to represent the world around us, and how people interpret maps today and throughout history. Please feel free to send any questions, comments, or recommendations directly to me at cartographia.blog@gmail.com.

